Watch the Skies Tonight!

0
2282
Mike Lewinski
Mike Lewinski

NASA —  On the night of July 29-30, a favorable new moon will help darken the skies for the 2014 Delta Aquarid meteor shower (the Southern Delta Aquarids). Although this is considered a minor meteor shower with projected peak rates at 15-20 meteors/hour, the darker skies will help even faint meteors shine more brightly.

Most of the world can see the Delta Aquarids, with best viewing in the southern hemisphere and northern hemisphere tropics. With clear, dark skies away from city lights, you can see meteors any time after full dark, with peak viewing times in the two hours before dawn (your local time).

On the night of July 29-30, NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center will offer a live Ustream view of the skies over Huntsville, Alabama (weather permitting). The live stream will begin on July 29 at 10:30 p.m. ADT, 9:30 p.m. EDT, 8:30 p.m. CDT, 7:30 p.m. MST, 6:30 p.m. PDT, 5;30 p.m. Alaska, 3:30 p.m. Hawaii. (This is July 30 at 01:30 UTC/GMT.)

Click the LIKE button to share this article with your friends on Facebook!